Skip to content

THE ELUSIVE MUSE

February 22, 2024
BARSHNIKOV

  “The essence of all art is to have pleasure in giving pleasure.”

That quote from the dancer, Mikhail Barshnikov, comes as close as anything I can think of to expressing what writing means to me. It captures the exhilaration of creating a world out of words and sharing that world with others. I completely identify with the statement, but there are times when the exhilaration is hard to find, when it’s almost suffocated by doubt and frustration.

Does that mean that my writing isn’t really art? That’s not for me to say (or even know). I can only do my best and hope. What I hope most is that it gives pleasure.

Do I have pleasure in writing?  Depends on when you ask me. When the words flow easily–definitely. When I’m struggling to find the right words–not so much. How about when I’m stumped for a way to extricate my characters from the dilemma I’ve created for them? The answer to that is mixed. Part of my brain says, “Give it up. Turn off the computer. Make a cup of tea and have a brownie.” Another part says, “Keep going. Dig a little deeper. Your muse will show up.” I wish I could say the latter part always wins. Unfortunately, it doesn’t. More often than I like to admit, the call of chocolate is louder than my muse. When that happens, sometimes I go back refreshed and everything falls into place. Other times, problems seem to have multiplied in my absence. In the end, it doesn’t matter. The only thing that matters is that I do go back, because if I do, I know eventually I’ll work it out. And that knowledge is pleasure.

Right now I’ve almost finished my first draft of the next book in the Jennie Connors Riverview Manor mystery series. The tentative title is PACKED FOR TROUBLE. I say tentative because experience has taught me that at this point everything is subject to change.

I’m eager to get those last two chapters down so I can start the editing process. I know some writers don’t enjoy editing, but I do. In fact, it’s usually the most enjoyable part of writing for me. I say usually because, due to life getting in the way, this story has been a long time birthing and I’m more than usually concerned about whether or not the story will flow. Things have happened to me in the almost three and a half years since it began. My life has changed, so I suppose I’ve changed. I don’t know how much the change has affected my writing or my characters. Are they the same people I began with all those months ago? Should they be? I guess I’ll soon find out.

With that in mind, I’m even more eager than usual to read this draft. (I started to say complete story, but we all know a first draft is far from a completed story) At any rate, I’m looking forward to tinkering with little tics of behavior or personality changes my characters may have picked up since Jennie Connors was involved in her last adventure (LOVE ME DEADLY).

It’s a bit frightening, but very exciting. I’m confident if I follow my own advice (Keep going. Dig a little deeper), my muse will show up. Actually, that’s not quite true. My muse doesn’t just show up. I have to go looking for her. I’m prepared to do that. And I’ll keep looking until I find her. When I do–pure pleasure.  At least for me and I sincerely hope for the reader.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2024 10:47 AM

    Your writing in this piece is so smooth and insightful! I agree – chocolate is a great way to get unstuck and back to the page. Can’t wait to read this new Jenny Connors mystery.

Leave a comment