Skip to content

The Book I Never Meant To Write

September 18, 2017

It’s funny how writing works. You never know where a story will lead or when a tiny brain tickle will begin to pulse. After writing five books about Jennie Connors and the folks at Riverview Manor, I felt the need to try something different. I loved spending time with the characters in the Jennie Connors mysteries and had a good time inventing new adventures for them, but I didn’t want to fall into the trap of writing the same book again and again. In other words, that tickle was getting stronger. I started looking around for new characters and a new setting.

I didn’t have to look far for a setting. Just up the hill from where I live, there’s a print versionwonderful castle-like museum. Perfect. All I needed was a plot and some characters. Peace Morrow introduced herself. I didn’t know much about Peace when I started, but, little by little, she revealed herself to me. I learned there were questions she desperately needed to have answered. Together, Peace and I began to plot the journey that we called LOVE AND NOT DESTROY.  By the end of the book, those questions were answered. End of story, right? Not quite.

In life, even fictional life, there is no permanent happily ever after. After even the most satisfying resolution, life goes on. New problems, new questions, arise. Peace wouldn’t let me rest. She kept asking: “What’s going to happen to me now?” Needing to know the answer myself, I began the story that became AN UNCERTAIN PATH, the book I didn’t intend to write. LOVE AND NOT DESTROY was supposed to be a Cody Uncertain Path Coverstandalone but I couldn’t ignore Peace’s query. I’d barely begun to answer Peace’s question when a new character, Rachel Woodard, stepped in with problems and questions of her own. Her problems became entangled with Peace’s.

This latest Peace Morrow book is the story of two young women, linked by tragedy. Their lives and the lives of everyone they love are affected by their responses to the tragedy. What happens when good intentions go bad?

AN UNCERTAIN PATH, more than anything I’ve written, grabbed my hand and led me down a path that was often uncertain, but that took me where the story needed to go. It’s a departure from my other books in that it’s not a traditional mystery. Readers know from the beginning whodunit and they are asked to decide for themselves what constitutes good and evil.  People who are supposed to know about such things tell me this is a mistake. Readers don’t like it when a writer steps outside their box. I disagree. I have more faith in readers than that.

AN UNCERTAIN PATH –  amzn.to/2vhDkz4

LOVE AND NOT DESTROY – http://amzn.to/NfDQqk

FINDING PEACE, a short story that introduces Peace Morrow – http://amzn.to/2j64Hrb

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2017 11:32 AM

    I’m intrigued! I thoroughly enjoyed reading Love and Not Destroy – looking forward to finding out “what’s going to happen now”.

    • September 18, 2017 1:15 PM

      Thanks, Cheryl, for stopping by.. Peace is still basically the same person, but about to start a new phase of her life.

  2. September 19, 2017 7:14 AM

    So happy to have come home from Sisters in Crime with your new book. I will start it this afternoon. It’s like sitting at a table when someone brings in a perfectly roasted turkey and a bowl of cranberry sauce. Can’t wait to dig in. KB Inglee

    • September 19, 2017 7:17 AM

      Wow! KB, you make it sound so enticing I want to read it again myself. Thanks for making my day.

  3. September 19, 2017 9:32 PM

    Congratulations, Sandy. I know I’ll love it.

  4. September 21, 2017 10:07 AM

    Looking forward to picking up a copy at the Pearl Buck Gift Shop and getting the author to sign it for me!

Leave a Reply

