Skip to content

Venture into Short Story

March 31, 2017

Writing a short story is different from writing a full length novel. Every word has to count. You need to establish mood, setting and character in just a few words.

The challenge in the story that I eventually called More Than Words Can Say was to make readers care about a young woman in a role for which there is no natural sympathy – the other woman. They’re almost always portrayed as selfish, heartless beauties who break up families and have no thought for the havoc they leave in their wake. I wanted to see if I could create sympathy for this character. I’m not sure where the idea came from. It was just something I wanted to try. That’s the beauty of short stories, you can test things and stretch your writing wings a bit.

So … I wrote a story from the point of view of the other woman and, although I didn’t plan it,
Copy of MORE THAN WORDS CAN SAY-1600X2071 the plot evolved. Somewhere in the process of writing about this young woman, she became more than I had in mind when I began. I got to know her better and other facets of her personality and her life became real to me – much in the way we get to know the people we meet in real life. Then I added a character with a challenge, a quality that we used to thoughtlessly call a handicap. And I liked him too. I wondered what would happen if I put these two vulnerable people together. Writing about him, I began to wonder what his family would think of her.

Such is the process of story building. You start with an idea, put a few words down and you never know where it will end. To me, and I think to most writers, it’s endlessly fascinating.

The story is free on Amazon through this weekend. Here’s the link if you’d like to check it out:  http://a.co/hUgDSLX

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

