Skip to content

The Good Part of 2016

January 23, 2017

The year just past was not the best for me. Things happened that I didn’t like, but that’s part of life – everyone’s life – and I know  I’m fortunate in that I have many more good than bad things in mine. One of the best of those good things is the pleasure of books.

Since I’ve been writing this blog, I’ve recapped each passing year by looking through my book journal and savoring the experiences that reading has brought to me. We’re almost through the first month of a new year and I haven’t done that yet, so …

princes-of-irelandThe first book I read in 2016 was The Princes of Ireland by Edward Rutherford, a sweeping saga of that country. To me, the most interesting aspect of this book was the way Rutherford moved though the centuries showing how various groups melted together to form the people we call Irish. We in the United States think of ourselves as a melting pot. We are, of course, but this book reminded me that all countries are, at least to some degree, melting pots. The difference in the United States is that our melting process is more recent in its inception. Every nation is composed of various groups that came for one reason or another and stayed. As the newcomers gradually, sometimes painfully, settled into their new homes, they retained some customs of their old culture and adopted some from the people they’d just joined, until the traditions merged, adding another layer to the existing culture, enriching it, making it more vital.

I started out to do a simple recap of a year of reading, but I seem to have gone off on a tangent. No apologies though. That’s the joy and value of books. They lead you down unexpected paths.

As I look through the titles in the journal, it seems to me that most of the books fall into the same category as the one that just led me astray. There’s an underlying theme of the value of diversity and being open to new ideas. That is certainly true of pearl-buck-maturethe works of Pearl S. Buck, a writer I spent quite a bit of time with in 2016.  Pearl Buck in China by Hilary Spurling, a biography, deepened my insight into the experiences that shaped Ms. Buck, both as a writer and a humanitarian. I also read (in some cases, re-read) several  books by Ms. Buck: The Good Earth, Wonderful Woman, Secrets of the Heart, The Exile (a biography of her mother), and Peony. The more I read her stories and learn about her life, the more I admire this woman. Sad things happened to her, things that could have turned her into a bitter, cynical person. Instead she became a humanitarian, creating a body of work and a foundation that carry on the ideals to which she devoted her life.

Some of my favorite books were written by people I know: Amish Born by C. K. Stein, Guilt Trip by Donna  Huston Murray,  A Blind Eye by Jane Gorman, divine-hotel-1Divine Hotel by Nicole Loughan, The Case Book of Emily Lawrence by KB Inglee, The King in the Stone by Carmen Ferreiro-Esteban, Hex, Death & Rock ‘N’ Roll (my award for best title) by E. F. Watkins, Shelby’s Ghost by Sarita Leone. Thinking about these, I am fascinated by the diversity  perf6.000x9.000.inddof my friends’ creations. Most of them live lives that, while not exactly like mine, are really not very different. Yet they came up with stories that I could never have written. Such is the power of the imagination.

Other books I enjoyed this year were: Edge of Eternity by Ken Follett, The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce, White Collar Girl by Renee Rosen, Clara and Mr. Tiffany by Susan Vreeland, Walden by Henry David Thoreau, Big Little Lies by Leanne Moriarty, The Secret Chord by Geraldine Brooks, Leaving Time by Jodi Picoult, All the Light We Cannot See by all-the-light-we-cannot-seeAnthony Doerr, The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins. OK enough. I’m not going to list every book I read in 2016, but I do want to mention how I ended my reading year: Bury Your Dead by Louise Perry. Ms. Perry is always a good choice. The world she creates is one I want to be in.

If there’s a common theme in these books, it is the value of diversity and the importance of the individual. We all have something unique to contribute. In fact, I can’t think of a single book I really like that doesn’t say this in one way or another.

How about you? Any favorites you’d like to share?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

