Skip to content

What then …

October 25, 2016

This poem by Samuel Taylor Coleridge crossed my path recently. I’m not a poet, nor am I particularly adept at interpreting poetry. To quote that old cliche about art (any art), I just know when I like something – or when something touches me. And this little poem touches me. I love the way it crosses the line between dreams and reality.

What if you sleptcarmens-perfect-rose
And what if
In your sleep
You dreamed
And what if
In your dream
You went to heaven
And there plucked a strange and beautiful flower
And what if
When you awoke
You had that flower in your hand
Ah, what then?

by Samuel Taylor Coleridge.

I like the poem in its entirety. I’m intrigued by the possibilities inherent in a dream, but the words that pierce my heart are those in the last line: Ah,what then?  Those are probably the favorite words of all storytellers – and story listeners. Those are the words around which our dreams are woven and our stories are built.

So, happy dreams, my friends. May they be filled with strange and beautiful flowers.

By the way, the lovely flower photo was taken by my friend, Carmen Ferreiro-Esteban. Thanks, Carmen. As I’ve said before, you are a multi-talented woman.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2016 9:41 PM

    Beautiful poem.
    What then? indeed. A perfect question for a writing contest.

  2. Helen burke permalink
    October 26, 2016 3:19 AM

    I always work from dreams helen b

    • October 26, 2016 7:29 AM

      That’s a great idea. I just never think about it. I need to remember to pay more attention to my dreams. Thanks for stopping by, Helen.

Leave a Reply

