Skip to content

Having Fun With Words

October 4, 2016

h“I think the green little guy with the big red crayon has it right, He is not trying to write the next big American novel. He’s just having fun. Writing is so intimidating sometimes that we forget to enjoy the process, and, given the state of the business, if we don’t have fun what is the point of writing?” Carmen Ferreiro-Esteban

My friend, Carmen, left the above comment in response to something I posted a couple of years ago about writing. Carmen Ferreiro EstebanI think it sums up pretty well why writers really write – something we need to be reminded of every now and then. All too often, we forget that we’re writing because we love words and the stories they tell. We get so caught up in finding the right word, we forget that words are tools. I pause a moment after typing “tools”. Is that really the correct word? Yes, I finally decide. It is precisely the word I need. A tool, according to my trusty Webster’s, is “anything that serves as a means to get something done”.

So words are indeed tools – and what wonderful tools they are – probably the best man has ever invented. We use words to tell stories, to entertain, to tell jokes, even, in the best of times to say the all-important “I love you”. I know, you can say it with flowers, or candy, or a thoughtful act, but there’s nothing like hearing thos three little words spoken aloud.

Sometimes we use words to create a world that we wish existed, sometimes to call attention to something we’d like to change. If change is your goal, there’s no better tool than words.

Aldous_HuxleySo, go forth, my friends, and spread your words around. I’m not just speaking to my writing friends. Much as we writers love words, they don’t belong to us alone. Words are for everyone. Have fun with them, but remember to use them kindly. Like most tools, they can either build or destroy.

“Words can be like X-rays if you use them properly — they’ll go through anything. You read and you’re pierced.” Aldous Huxley

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2016 2:51 PM

    Well said, Sandy. And thank you for reminding me of what I once said, but sometimes forget. It amazes me to think of the infinite number of things that can be expressed with the same words. And thank you to remind all of us to use them kindly.

  2. October 4, 2016 3:50 PM

    Thank YOU, Carmen.

    Readers of BOAN: It occurs to me that some of you might like to know more about Carmen, so … here’s a link to her Amazon author page: https://www.amazon.com/Carmen-Ferreiro-Esteban/e/B001JS8LQM/ref=ntt_dp_epwbk_0

Leave a Reply

