Skip to content

Willa Cather – A Strong Woman

July 30, 2015

Willa CatherIn the summer of 2013 I set aside a month to immerse myself in the work of one writer and chose Willa Cather. It was a good choice. Note: this is a repeat of a post I wrote a little over a year ago, but since I’m now engaged in a similar reading experiment, I decided to re-visit and re-post my thoughts about this exceptional woman. If you’ve already read this and want to skip it this time, that’s okay – you’re excused – but I do hope you’ll come back.

Why was Ms. Cather a good choice? For me, reading is all about characters. The books that I love and go back to again and again are those with strong characters – people with whom I fall in love and cheer for, or sometimes hate and jeer at. Either way, these people real to me. After I close the book and turn off the light, I worry about them. When the book is finished and back on the shelf, I savor their triumphs and regret their disappointments. And when it comes to creating strong characters, nobody beats Cather – especially strong female characters.

My favorite examples of Cather’s strong women are portrayed in the books known as the Prairie Trilogy: Oh Pioneers!, Song of the Lark, and My Antonia. If you want to understand the history of our country, read these three books. They tell the story of a country – growing, changing, and forging itself into a nation. The characters are not heroic in the usual sense of the word, but they, through the lives they led, the hardships they endured, the perseverance they displayed, are the foundation of this country. Their strengths and weakness are at the heart of who we, as Americans, are. In each of them, there’s a strong woman, a woman who’s not afraid to take charge of her own destiny.willa cather - prairie

 Song of the Lark is a little different from the other two in that it looks at the less than admirable side of life in a tight, closed community. It’s the story of an artist, nurtured by the prairie she loves and, at the same time, constricted by the expectations of the community and stifled by small-town life. I couldn’t help but wonder how much of Cather’s own experience went into this one.

To round out the month, I read a collection of novellas that included A Lost Lady, The Professor’s House, and Death Comes for the Archbishop. They were all good stories, but I have to admit about half way through Death Comes for the Archbishop, I began to skim. It’s set in an earlier time than the others and was an inspiring story in many ways. The archbishop traveled all over the southwest, including some Native American sites that I’ve visited and found fascinating. I’m not sure why I lost interest. Maybe I was just maxed out on life on the great prairies – in other words, too much of a good thing.

All in all, I enjoyed immersing myself in Willa Cather’s books. She was a wise woman, and a fine writer. A few of her observations that I thought worth jotting down:

“There are some things you learn best in calm and some in storm.”

“Where there is great love, there are always wishes.”

“It does not matter much whom we live with in this world, but it matters a great deal whom we dream of.”

“There are only two or three human stories, and they go on repeating themselves as fiercely as if they had never happened before.”

No fancy language – just seemingly obvious statements, expressed in simple, declarative sentences. Yet I found them provocative. All in all, I enjoyed immersing myself in the books of one author enough to do it again. This time around, I’ve picked Pearl Buck, another strong woman. More about her in a future posting.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. cherylcookeharrington permalink
    July 30, 2015 9:37 AM

    Interesting post, Sandra. I came across Cather’s My Antonia recently and was intrigued enough to add it to my ‘want to read’ list. Thanks for the reminder!

  2. July 31, 2015 9:42 AM

    Junction City, Kansas, where I live, is very close to Red Cloud, Nebraska. Many times I have gone there to look over the Nebraska prairie, to visit Willa Cather’s home, and the museum. We share the same beliefs about Willa Cather, who is one of my favorite writers. I think her real masterpiece is Death Comes to the Archbishop which is universal in scope. Thanks for the post.

    • July 31, 2015 11:55 AM

      I envy you, Loretta. A visit to the home of Willa Cather is on my bucket list. There are so many little known sites in our country’s mid-section. I’m from Missouri, near the spot where Lewis and Clark began their journey and am always telling people that there’s more to history than battles. I’ll have to go back to Death Comes to the Archbishop. I know I didn’t do it justice. Thanks for your insight.

  3. Sydell Voeller permalink
    July 31, 2015 11:26 AM

    Good for you, Sandy! I admire your goal-setting to devote yourself to the works of a particular author. You’ve piqued my interest, and I’m going to try to read some of Cather’s books too.

    • July 31, 2015 11:50 AM

      I think you would enjoy them, Sydell. They’re a picture of the lives of everyday people at a time when the country was growing and developing – a time when we were figuring out who we are. Thanks so much for taking time to read and comment.

Leave a Reply

