Skip to content

An Anniversary – A Reflection on Goals

June 4, 2015

This month, June 2015, marks the tenth anniversary of the release of my first published novel, Put Out the LightPUT OUT THE LIGHT.

I’ll never forget the thrill of getting the call from Avalon Books.  As luck would have it, that happened on my birthday. Best present anyone ever received! I don’t remember what I said, but I know that a few seconds into whatever it was, I realized I was making no sense whatsoever. I took a couple of deep breaths and started over. I don’t remember what I said then either. I guess it doesn’t matter. What matters is that Avalon didn’t hold it against me and went ahead with the publication of Put Out the Light.

It was a major milestone in my life. I had reached a goal. When I started writing this book, I told myself it didn’t even matter if it was published. I just wanted to see if I could actually write a book – a whole book – so I put those first words on the page with only the vaguest idea of what came next. Finally, I finished the book. I had a story that, at least in my oinion, held together. There was a beginning, a middle, and an end. I was enormously proud of myself, but only for a few minutes. It hit me that it did matter to me that the book be published, so I started down the road toward another goal – publication. A different goal. A different process and not an easy one. Nevertheless, after a long and not-always-pleasant journey, I achieved that goal and, since then, have reached a few more. One thing I’ve learned along the way is that a goal reached is not an end, but a beginning. There’s always more to the journey.

I’ll be sharing more about this journey in the days ahead. Next week, I’ll be blogging about it on Classic and Cozy, the blog written by some old and dear friends from my Avalon days. Here’s a link in case you’d like to check out what they have to say: http://classicandcozybooks.blogspot.com/ I promise you’ll find it worthwhile. The current post is by Janis Susan May and is about finding the right length for whatever you’re writing.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Marielena permalink
    June 5, 2015 8:33 PM

    I can’t believe it’s been 10 years since “Put Out the Light” came out, Sandy. It feels like yesterday. Congratulations to you and the many books you’ve written and published since. You are one talented writer.

    • June 6, 2015 7:01 AM

      Thanks, Marielena. You’ve been there every step of the way on this journey – and have been a great cheerleader/companion. Now we’re traveling the road with our new friend, Loreen. What fun!

Leave a Reply

