Skip to content

Putting Your Ego Aside

July 5, 2014

It's Raining MenHave you ever collaborated with another author to tell a story? I haven’t actually done it, but the process fascinates me. A friend of mine, Beate Boeker, recently teamed up with another writer, Gwen Ellery to write It’s Raining Men. 

Since I’ve known Beate for a while and have read quite a few of her books, I thought I’d be able to tell which chapters she wrote. I was wrong. It’s Raining Men has all the trademark humor and mischief I’ve come to associate with Beate, but since I’m not familiar with Gwen’s other work, I can’t say how much her input affected the style. The two of them did a good job creating one voice. I had fun trying to figure who wrote which chapter, but there was only one chapter I was sure had been written by my friend and that was because of the setting, not the voice.

As I said, the collaborative process fascinates me. I think of writing as a deeply personal experience and can only imagine the patience and discipline it must take to shape the visions of two individual writers into one cohesive story. The closest I’ve ever come was several years ago when a group of then-Avalon writers decided to write a joint novel for our Avalon Authors blog. Since Avalon Books no longer exists, the blog has moved on (we’re now Classic and Cozy Books) , but the old blog and our collaborative book, Along For the Ride, are still floating out there in cyber space. Here’s a link if you’re curious:

http://avalonauthors.blogspot.com/p/avaloner-online-novel.html

If you’d like to sample It’s Raining Men, there’s an excerpt on my website – http://www.sandracareycody.com/guestexcerpt.html

I can think of two other writing  teams whose work I enjoy. One is the mother and son team who write the Bess Crawford series and the Inspector Ian Rutledge series as Charles Todd. The other is the sister team, Loretta Jackson and Vickie Britton, who write the High Mountain Mystery series. I wonder if being related makes it easier or harder to put aside one’s ego. That, I think, must be the key – being able to put ego aside for the good of the story.

Link to It’s Raining Men: http://amzn.to/1j1ae95

Any other collaborators out there? I’d love to hear from you.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2014 1:42 PM

    Beate’s humor delights me. She’s so free and easy and the quips come out naturally. She does portray that in her writing as well, a knack few people can claim.

Leave a Reply

