Skip to content

The End. Now What?

April 15, 2014

Lethal Journal - print

You finished your book. It’s been edited and revised. It’s time to let it go. Easier said than done. It’s like sending your baby off to kindergarten – or to college. It never gets any easier. As parents/creators, we’re never 100% sure we’ve done all we can. Yet, from the moment books and babies are conceived, we know sooner or later we’re going to have to push them out of the nest. So … deep breath … you push the appropriate buttons and release your book.

Done.

Now what?

The one thing you cannot do is rest. If no one hears about your book, no one will read it. So you tell all your friends about it – and hope they’ll tell their friends. You tweet, twitter, peep – and hope someone is paying attention. You blog and you brag (just a little) – and hope you’re not being obnoxious. That’s where I am with Lethal Journal. It’s out there – available in e and print format. I’ve done all I can for this book.

Uh… maybe there is one more thing: here’s a link – http://www.amazon.com/dp/1497460050

What now?

Time to start a new book. Every time I get to this place, I think of Charles Dickens’s great line about the “…best of times, the worst of times” because, for me, that’s what every beginning is. The task is daunting, but the possibilities are limitless. How can I pick one idea out of the jumble of stories in my head that are begging to be told? This time, it’s a bit easier than usual. There’s a book that I started a year or so ago, an idea that I really liked, but somehow the story got ahead of me. It took an unexpected turn and I didn’t know how to follow it. I put it aside, but all the time I was working on Lethal Journal, that story was percolating in another corner of my mind – and now I’m ready to write it. I think I have a solution to the problem that eluded me a year ago.

Ultimately, that’s what next. More writing. More hope. Plus, discipline, persistence, and (hopefully) inspiration.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2014 9:57 PM

    You’re right, Sandy. I’ve always felt that being inside my WIP was my safe cocoon. But after it’s finished–now that can be scary! Good luck with your new project!

  2. Linda Ballou permalink
    April 19, 2014 3:02 PM

    I just saw a clip of Joyce Carol Oates in which she spoke of the pure misery of starting a book. I gather from what you say, that your experience is mixed, and I love the way you describe it above in the section, “Time to start a new book.”

    • April 20, 2014 7:49 AM

      Thanks so much, Linda. I begin with mixed feelings. A beginning is a chance to get everything right this time or to … best not to think about that.

Leave a Reply

