Skip to content

Looking Forward – Bring it on, 2014 – Mistakes and All

January 6, 2014

The old year is gone. I’ve done all the looking back I intend to.

Hourglass front viewTime to look ahead. How do I do that? Looking back is easy. Looking forward – not so much. I find beginnings the hardest part of writing. Beginning a new book, even a new chapter, even when the story is well under way, presents a challenge. It forces me to face the unknown. How can I be sure it will be good – worthy of the time I hope readers will devote to it? There’s no sure way to know that.

The same goes for years. All of us, if we look back over our lives, will see some years that are better than others. Most of us probably have years we’d like to delete, but I have a feeling if we could go back and delete a bad year, we’d lose something valuable, maybe a lesson learned, that paved the way for a good year. If we wiped out our mistakes, we might wipe out the reason for a new direction, which though taken reluctantly, led to an exciting discovery, a new venture. Since life has no delete key, we’ll never know. All we can do as we start this year is go forward. Start where we are. Maybe change a few things, but keep moving, keep doing.

One of the things (actually the main thing) I’d like to do differently relating to writing would be to start sooner. That, without being too analytical about it, is probably true for everything about my life. In almost everything I do I wish I were further along than I am. I wish I’d wasted less time thinking about what I wanted to do and just gotten to the doing.

But, even in that I could be wrong. Maybe the procrastination and the doubts were necessary. Maybe those bad things were part of the ripening tha?????????????t brought something good to fruition. Anyway, good or bad, they’re part of who I am at the beginning of this year.

So, no resolutions this year. Well … maybe one: PROCRASTINATE LESS. DO IT NOW.

Happy 2014, everyone. May your road ahead be … more good than bad.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2014 4:13 PM

    Starting a new book is always hard. I’ve had the idea for book 4 in my series for over a year, but had to finish the 2nd and 3rd first. Then comes the procrastination. Christmas had to be got through and then the cleaning up, and then, and then, and then, but finally I sat down yesterday and wrote that first chapter. I feel liberated. I still need to write a bio of my murderer and bios for some new characters I want to include in this book, but the first step has been taken finally. Now if I can only make myself update my new website before the old one expires, but tomorrow is another day, isn’t it?

    • January 8, 2014 9:05 PM

      Good for you, Gloria, for getting started. I think all the little nitpicking details of our lives are the biggest obstacle women writers have to overcome. Is it easier for men or is it a case of the case of the grass being greener on their side of the fence?

Leave a Reply

