Skip to content

Food and Crime in Italy

May 20, 2013

Patricia Winton and I met when we were on a panel together at Killer Nashville a couple of years ago and have since gotten to know each other better via the wonder of social media, especially Facebook. I am fascinated by her posts about life in Italy and was thrilled when she agreed to share some of her experiences with the readers of Birth of a Novel.

Patricia_WintonA little something about my guest:

Patricia Winton writes about two of Italy’s great works of art: food and crime. She first went to Italy more than forty years ago, living first in Tuscany for three years. She has lived in Rome for the past ten. She has picniced on figs and wine among Grecian ruins in Paestum, feasted on wild boar in Bologna, shared a plate of tripe with a complete stranger in a Florentine market, and sampled newborn eel along the Tyrrhenian coast.

Her short story “Feeding Frenzy” appears in Fish Tales: The Guppy Anthology (Wildside Press, 2011). You can read the story by clicking on the title. Caroline Woodlock, an Italian-American journalist covering international culinary scene, and Nino Nardo, a professor of Italian culinary history and traditions, first appear in this story and continue in Patricia’s two works in progress.

She is a member of Sisters in Crime, the Guppy chapter of SinC, and the Short Mystery Fiction Society.

And now, here’s Patricia:

My stories are set in Italy, and I try to spice my work with glimpses of the culture—the history, the art, the food, the traditions. Sometimes I begin a story with a setting in mind and build around the place. At other times, I lace the story with daily habits, such as the evening pre-dinner stroll that many people take, out seeing and being seen before retiring home for a family meal.

 The book I’m working on at the moment takes place in Florence. The city’s museums, monasteries, and other buildings house many renditions of The Last Supper. From the early days of Christianity, the last supper has been a favorite artistic theme, and such frescoes often decorated monastery dining rooms. 12_Ultima_cena3_GhibertiSome of these monasteries still fulfill their religious purpose while others have been converted to other uses, such as conference centers. Florentine museums hold tapestries and wooden panels devoted to the theme. Lorenzo Ghiberti even worked it into one of the bronze panels on the north door of the Baptistery. I first visited some of these works about 30 years ago.

 Italian cuisine is the backdrop for my work. As I began planning this book, I saw connections between the cenacoli (as The Last Suppers are known in Italian) and the story I wanted to tell. I needed to go back to Florence to look at the cenacoli I had viewed earlier and to see others I hadn’t visited in the past. Many of the works are housed in private spaces with limited opening hours and days. Spreading a map, I constructed a chart with opening times and locations.

 My friend Margaret, an art historian, and I booked rooms in a convent housing one of the cenacoli. Over Ghirlandaiothe next two and one-half days, we viewed eight of the works. It was quite a pace to keep up because we worked in a bit of shopping and some good dining as well. We missed seeing one of the frescoes because the opening time listed on the website had been changed to another day—after we departed. At the Museo di San Marco, we asked several museum employees how to find the painting. We’d follow the directions only to see an exit ahead. Each time we passed through the gift shop. Finally, we sat down there to rest, and on a wall we’d walked past several times spread out a fantastic work by Domenico Ghirlandaio.

 A couple of times, we asked about the best way to get to the AndreadelSartoMuseum at the periphery of the city, but we were always told it was too far. On the last day, Margaret left in the morning, but I took a later train. Leaving my suitcase at the convent, I boarded a bus for a short ride. At the next stop, a woman getting on asked if it was the bus for Piazza San Salvi. My ears perked up—that was the location of the delSarto. “Sì, sì,” said the driver. I stayed on board. At San Salvi, I looked for the museum to no avail. I found an 8th century church, I walked up and down the streets leaving the piazza, and I asked passersby where to find the museum. Nothing.

 Now, in Italy the best place for information is at a bar, so I entered one, ordered a cup of espresso, and cenacolo-andrea-del-sarto-museum-florence1asked my question. Minutes later, I viewed the jewel in the crown of Florentine cenacoli. It gave me the setting for the opening of my novel. I’m glad I was listening to the Italian being spoken on that bus; otherwise I would have missed it. I’m weaving some of these works of art in the the book I’m writing.

 To learn more about this interesting person:

http://www.PatriciaWinton.com
http://ItalianIntrigues.blogspot.com
http://NovelAdventurers.blogspot.com

Thank you, Patricia. Reading this is the next best thing to a trip to Italy

17 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2013 11:10 AM

    Patricia, this was a fascinating blog post! We have something in common – I also write about Florence, though I never lived there. Love the story about the bus and how you got to see the museum – good to know the language! Have you ever been to the Women’s Fiction Festival in Matera, the South of Italy? It should be right up your alley – great people, great food, great backdrop of a city . . .

    • May 20, 2013 11:31 AM

      Beate, I’ve never been to the festival in Matera, though it’s on my list of things to do, if for nothing to see the village. Thanks for your comment. I’ve never lived in Florence either, but I’ve visited many times. Forty years ago, I was a 30-minute train ride away, and I went there frequently.

  2. Heidi Noroozy permalink
    May 20, 2013 9:17 PM

    What a lovely premise to your book, Patricia. I hope you finish it soon so I can read it! I know about the Matera festival from a some German/Austrian friends who’ve attended. It’s also on my list of things to do. Someday…

    • May 22, 2013 5:14 AM

      Heidi, thanks for stopping by. Matera is a fascinating town that I’ve long wanted to visit. I’m pleased with the way this book is shaping up.

  3. May 20, 2013 9:55 PM

    Sounds like wonderful research, Patricia. I’m always jealous when I read your blog posts. This one sounds fabulous, from the paintings to the dinners and the shopping. I can’t wait for you book.

    • May 22, 2013 5:16 AM

      Quite by chance we stumbled upon a restaurant with a chef who specializes in Renaissance food. That fit in so well with my theme, that I returned to the restaurant three times! And the chef gave me his phone number in case I need to get in touch with questions later.

  4. May 21, 2013 12:49 PM

    Patricia–
    What a fascinating backdrop for a novel. Your characters sound interesting, too. What is the title of your work-in-progress? I want to keep my eye out for it!
    Victoria–

  5. May 22, 2013 5:19 AM

    The working title is The Last Suppers. Diane Mott Davidson used the title (in the plural), but that was 19 years ago, so I’m hoping to use it.

  6. Steve permalink
    May 22, 2013 11:35 AM

    As always, great writing. I look forward to your work on the Last Suppers theme. If you need a consultant, I know a Methodist preacher who could advise.

    • May 22, 2013 2:11 PM

      The more I read about this book, the more I have to read the book. Thanks again, Patricia.

    • May 22, 2013 2:12 PM

      Steve, where’s your Methodist church? I go to a Methodist church in Doylestown, PA (near Philly).

      • May 23, 2013 10:35 AM

        Steve’s my brother. He’s currently in Mary Esther, Florida, but he’s soon moving to Alabama.

    • May 23, 2013 10:33 AM

      Hello, Steve, brother dear. I’m glad you liked this post. I’ll talk with you about it sometime.

  7. May 23, 2013 5:42 AM

    I’m late to the party, but I enjoyed reading about your search for the museums and art. What wonderful research! Now I’ll be looking forward to the book even more than I already was. C’mon, get it out there!

    • May 23, 2013 10:36 AM

      Hi, Ellis. I’m plodding. I’ve put the first book in the bottom drawer for now, but I have hopes for this one.

      • May 25, 2013 8:09 AM

        I know what it’s like to plod. Don’t give up on that first book. Sometimes you just have to wait until a story is ripe for the telling.

Leave a Reply

