Skip to content

Perfect Partners: A Good Book and A Glass of Wine

March 7, 2013

One of the many blessings of being a writer is the people you get to know. I’ve learned a lot from my writing friends – about writing, of course – but about other things too. One of my smart friends, Tracey Sorel, has combined her love of good books and fine wine in Zinfandelity, the debut novel of her Wine Country Vixen series. (I told you she’s smart, didn’t I?) I’m happy to say she’s willing to share some thoughts about both with us. So, Tracey …authorpic[1]

I don’t know about you, but I love a good glass of wine just as much as I love reading a good book. I started my love affair with the grape libation years ago. I didn’t perfect my tastes, though, until I lived in Northern California for a brief time about six years ago. There I fell in love all over again. I’d use any excuse to go wine tasting in Napa Valley, or better yet venture right outside my home in the Livermore Valley to the dozens of wineries almost within walking distance.

You haven’t experienced wine in the United States until you’ve traveled to the Napa region.  It is like all the brochures and advertisement you’ve seen–wonderful sunny hillsides, dotted with chateau like structures surrounded by vineyards, their vines burgeoning with clusters of grapes.  And each winery/vineyard has their own signature blend of wines.  In Napa you’ll find wineries known for their tannin laced spicy reds, some for their fruity dry whites and a few who are famous for their sparkling wines. It sort of reminds me of my author friends.  We all write romance, but we each have our own brand for our work.  Some of us write sweet, while some are known for the hotter romance stories.  And a few of us are successfully writing both.

As writers we are the vintners of our profession. Our books start as little seeds of an Zinfandelity_150[1]idea, and then develop into full blown story lines not unlike the way grapes grow from season to season starting out small and eventually filling the vines with full bodied clusters.   I enjoy nothing more than an afternoon spent reading a good book while sipping from an equally good glass wine.  Wouldn’t it be fun to try pairing your wine with your reading tastes? I might suggest a spicy red Malbec with a hot romance read, or a fruity Riesling paired with a nice sweet historical romance. How about you? What wine would you pair with the book you’re reading.

Tracey is also currently featured on the Guest Excerpt page of my website – http://www.sandracareycody.com  There you can learn more about her and read an excerpt from Zinfandelity.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2013 12:42 PM

    Hi Tracey and Sandra. Great guest blog, and I also followed the link to the excerpt. Sounds like a great romance!

Leave a Reply

