Skip to content

Embracing Change

October 9, 2012

In April of this year, I wrote about the revolution occurring in the publishing world and its effect on both readers and writers. I marveled at how completely my attitude had changed toward ebooks and self-publishing in one year. Now, less than half a year after that, change continues.

 A bit of history on where I fit into the mix: The four books in my Jennie Connors series were published by Avalon Books as hardbacks. I was (and am) incredibly proud of them. I loved writing for Avalon. They were a New York publisher, yet they were small enough that when I called, I didn’t have to go through a voicemail jungle; the phone was answered by a real person. I knew most of the people there by name – first name – and when I told them my name, they knew who I was and the title of my latest book. I never felt like a pawn being shoved around by a giant hand connected to a body I would never see. Avalon sold mainly to libraries so my books were in my favorite places. In short, I had achieved an important goal. Was I content? Kind of. Why only kind of? Anybody remember the old Peggy Lee song, Is That All There Is? That pretty much sums it up. Human beings are rarely content when they get what they think they want. They’re always looking toward the next hill, wondering what’s on the other side.

 For me, the brave new world of epublishing was the next hill. I wanted an ebook and I wanted to publish it myself. I had to know if I could climb the hill all by myself. I did a couple of test runs with short stories, then self-published a full length novel, Love and Not Destroy. It was easier than I thought it would be. I had a foot in both worlds and was pretty proud of myself.  Again, I had achieved my goal.

 This time I didn’t have to go looking for the next hill.  It found me. In June, Avalon Books was bought out by Amazon. My two worlds merged. Was this good or bad or a bit of both?  So far, I’m happy to say the changes have been good. The first thing Amazon did was reduce the price of the books, making them accessible to more people. Definitely good. In addition, they plan to release the former Avalon titles in paperback and ebook formats. Wonderful. Even more accessibility. The next big question is: when? I don’t know how long it will take to finish the conversion, but it’s already begun. My first Jennie Connors book, Put Out the Light, was released in the new formats a little over a month ago, a change that has given new life to a book published in 2005.

I can’t say how long I’ll be content, but the moment, I couldn’t be more pleased. To mark the occasion, I’m giving away a hardcover copy of Put Out the Light to one commenter, chosen at random. I’ll announce the winner on this blog next Tuesday, Oct. 16. So, readers and writers, please leave a comment and let us know how you feel about what’s going on in the world of books.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2012 7:38 AM

    Sandy, I’ve read “Put Out the Light” and I want to encourage our blog followers to comment because the lucky reader chosen at random is in for a real treat! I’m thrilled that your writing is available in both the traditional and e-publishing world and so happy for all the “good changes” happening for your novels.

    So, folks — what are you waiting for? Please comment below (and btw, I’m out of the running on this one!) 🙂

    • October 10, 2012 7:44 AM

      Thanks, Marielena. One of the pleasures of writing is being part of such a caring and supportative community.

  2. October 10, 2012 10:16 AM

    I must say that I haven’t read it and it sounds interesting. Good luck on your future ventures!

  3. Katie permalink
    October 10, 2012 10:56 AM

    Books are great! But something that’s also important are phone answer services because they enable you to not miss any of your important phone calls. But we must all continue to read and expand our knowledge 🙂

  4. October 10, 2012 4:18 PM

    I’m on that same precipice, thanks to the Amazon/Avalon combo meal. Will it vault our names farther? I sure hope so. But even if it doesn’t, I’m honored to share the teeny spotlight with such a talented author as Sandy. Sandra Carey Cody writes great books that keep you turning pages into the middle of the night!

  5. October 11, 2012 4:12 PM

    I’m a new member of Sisters in Crime, which is how I’ve found you. I’m so happy I have! I’ve been reading mysteries since I first read the tales of Sherlock Holmes when I was 7 or 8. Now I read and write them, always most happy to discover another SinC! Can’t wait to get started on your series. Thank you for sharing your adventures in publishing!

    • October 11, 2012 7:18 PM

      Welcome and thanks for your interest. Be sure to let me know what you’re working on and I’ll be on the lookout. Thanks for taking time to comment.

      • October 11, 2012 7:38 PM

        Book One of the Shirley Combs/Dr. Mary Watson is out: The Hounding, and I’m writing the second one now (The Illustrious Client). In November I’ll be writing a dark thriller not of the series, for NaNoWriMo … my first time. The Hounding is available on amazon. Thanks for asking about my writing Sandy! I’m just plain Sandra like sand ..rah.

  6. October 12, 2012 10:01 AM

    Hi Sand … rah, Thanks for letting me know about The Hounding. I checked it out on Amazon and it sounds fascinating. Love, love the cover!

  7. October 12, 2012 3:36 PM

    Thanks for the heads-up, Sandra. Will do.

  8. October 15, 2012 9:15 AM

    Best of luck, Sandy.

    I owe Put Out the Lights and I recommend it highly.

  9. November 8, 2012 7:52 PM

    I need to to thank you for this wonderful read!
    ! I certainly enjoyed every bit of it. I have you saved as a favorite to look at new things you post…

    • November 8, 2012 8:14 PM

      Thanks, Carole. I’m delighted that you liked the post and grateful that you took the time to let us know.

Leave a Reply

