Skip to content

JOAN BARTH ON: GOALS

November 22, 2010

A year ago, I wrote about the benefits I received from attending the International Women’s Writing Guild conference at Skidmore College in Saratoga Springs, New York. This year the meeting was held at Brown University in Providence, Rhode Island.

Two workshops I consistently attended over the week were very helpful β€” one on rewriting, the other on the legal issues of electronic media. Authors attending such workshops need to have goals β€” what do they want to get out of the conference.

In the one on rewriting, I discovered that I am rewriting my manuscript correctly. I am scrutinizing my work as to whether it’s interesting to me.

The publishing lawyer, Sheila Levine, reiterated the point that many editors who have lost their jobs have become agents, despite having no experience in that field. Some authors are so desperate to hire an agent that they give away all rights sought by an interested agent. She suggests an author have a publishing lawyer read a tentative contract before signing it.

My goal of learning relevant information was met.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,986 other followers

