Skip to content

JOAN BARTH ON: CHOICE

January 18, 2010

I recently attended the annual conference of the International Coach Federation in Orlando (I’m a certified Lifecoach). I sat with two men whose ideas on how to choose a coach were different from mine. I kept quiet as they agreed that clients choose based on the letters behind a name. Finally, they asked what I thought.

“I disagree with both of you,” I said.

One man was delighted that I disagreed. The other attempted to get me to agree with him. It’s like reading a book, each reader finds what pleases him or her. An author can’t please everyone.

Frequently, my fellow blog mates and I disagree. For example, they all choose a book by reading the first page while I read a page halfway into the story. My theory is that good writing must be able to maintain itself well into the story.

Suppose you pick poorly. Do you continue reading because you believe in completing what you start? Or do you put the book down and admit you made a bad choice? Do you read farther?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

