Skip to content

JOAN BARTH ON: A PLACE TO WRITE

August 10, 2009

Joan BarthMy second grade grandson, looked crestfallen as he sat down at the kitchen table with me.  My daughter, his mother, continued to rant.  

“You can stay at Granny’s until your work is done.  Call me then.”  She slammed the door behind her.

He wrote two sentences after telling me he had to write a Christmas story.

“It’s about Santa and one of his elves.  The elf tells Santa he doesn’t really like making toys.  Santa tells him he doesn’t like driving reindeer.  So they decide to switch.”

“Excuse me, Granny.  I have to go to the bathroom.”

When he returned, he wrote two more sentences.

“Excuse me, Granny,” he said, getting up.  “May I have some apple juice?”

When he sat down again, he wrote the now customary two sentences.

“Excuse me, Granny,” he said.

My laughter cut short the rest of his sentence.

“Oh, I do the same when I write.  I have to sharpen my pencil, call friends, go to the potty.”

Do you act like he does?  Do many things distract you from your work?

John Grogan author of Marley and Me, admits he finally wrote at the Lehigh Library because writing at home with people there was too distracting and writing was too lonely. 

Find your place and keep writing. Mine is morning at the dining room table.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 12, 2009 1:15 AM

    Joan, it sounds as though your grandson is destined to be a genuine author someday. He has the skills of a natural procastinator, a common trait of every writer I know. I hope you gave him a good cuddle when he finished his story.

    Thanks for sharing. It made my day.

Leave a Reply

