Skip to content

MARIELENA ZUNIGA: ON HOPE

May 2, 2009

marielenas-new-head-shot-informal

Word of the week. Hope. Many are struggling to find hope today. Thread by thread, the already-frayed fabric of our economy unravels. Loved ones out of work. Homes lost. Where do we find hope, especially as writers, in the midst of that?

 

Over the years I’ve struggled writing my fiction books, one written, many half-written. At points in the process, I’d lose hope. That sabotaging inner voice would tell me, “This isn’t any good. Who would want to buy this?” Rejections would prove me right. Then would come that rare external validation, a positive, scribbled comment from an editor or publisher, or winning a regional prize, and hope would rebound. 

 

While positive feedback is important, a belief in ourselves as writers – an inner validation — is even more critical. That’s where hope kicks in. We need to dig deep, know that despite setbacks or rejections, we have our own unique voice to share with the world. We can be published.

 

 Have I succeeded? Not always. But at the end of the day, I know hopelessness is not an option. When we give in to our fears – as with the economy – we have only perpetuated more of the same. As writers, we must not only have hope, we must give it. We do that by writing words that teach, inspire, or distract readers from their troubles by leading them into worlds of mystery, love or laughter. So, yes, I do hope. For the economy. For all writers to be published. And I go forward – with apologies to the President – with the audacity of hope.

 

What Marielena’s reading now:

BACK SPIN by Harlen Coben

GROUNDSWELL: WINNING IN A WORLD TRANSFORMED BY SOCIAL TECHNOLOGIES by Charlene Li and Josh Bernoff.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2009 2:39 AM

    Thanks, Marielena, for your inspiring words. And they do inspire. I hope you take them to heart yourself and continue with your fine writing. The chapter of your novel posted on this site under “OUR OFFSPRING” is provocative – witty with a hint of a complex story to follow. I very much hope to see the rest of the story in print soon.

    Good luck!

  2. Tom permalink
    May 4, 2009 1:48 PM

    Excellent first post, Elena! Keep the hope! =)

    • Marielena permalink
      May 4, 2009 2:11 PM

      Thanks, Tom, for your good words. Keep writing! You are very good. And Sandy, thanks for your encouraging words, as well. I think it’s easier sometimes for me to give hope than have it for myself. So your support means a great deal!

  3. May 5, 2009 7:33 PM

    “Hope is a belief in a positive outcome related to events and circumstances in one’s life. Hope is the feeling that what is wanted can be had or that events will turn out for the best.” Wikipedia

    Looks like one of the things you hoped for has come to fruition. Great site! Excellent piece. Thank you 🙂

  4. Marielena permalink
    May 5, 2009 9:29 PM

    Great quote on “hope,” Cindy. Thanks for contributing to our blog and for your positive feedback!
    Elena

  5. May 7, 2009 8:46 PM

    I agree. Hope begets hope. I love when people tell me my writing inspires them. I feel I am doing something good for the world. I believe that the more collectively we put out there on the positive, the more likely we are to create it.

    • Marielena permalink
      May 8, 2009 5:27 PM

      Joanne,
      Thanks for your comments. I checked out your blog, One Woman’s Eye, and love it! How did you find us? However you did, many thanks.

Leave a Reply

